News Premieres

PREMIERE: Canter’s Darkly Enchanting ‘Call It Safe’

I’ve got a chillingly gorgeous premiere for you today. It’s from Chicago-based Canter, off their upcoming Lakeshore Records release, Returning to the Same Place.

“Call It Safe,” which hits Friday, Sept. 13, is a single from the band’s forthcoming Lakeshore Records album, Returning to the Same Place. “Call It Safe” features a 1980s-inspired modern production; it’s a dark and moving song that manages to soothe the listener with a sense of security that nevertheless feels laced with foreboding. Pre-order now!

For those unfamiliar with Canter, here’s the deal: Their third full-length album, Returning to the Same Place, features co-founder Corban Lott on vocals, guitar and synthesizers; co-founder Ryan Germain on synthesizers, drum machines and samplers; AJ Halbrook on synthesizers and drum machines; and Giselle Ghofrani on vocals and synthesizers. The 12-track album was co-produced by Germain and Adam Stilson at Decade Music Studios in Chicago, and showcases a vintage analog synth palette that incorporates elements of synth-pop, electronic rock, darkwave, post-punk and krautrock.

canter call it safe single cover
Canter. Photo by Ian Vecchiotti.

Here’s what Lott had to say about the album:

Our latest record is about cycles: life cycles, social cycles, political cycles, etc. It’s about when the reset button gets clicked, and things feel as though they’re starting over. It’s about that second or third time around when you try again, but with a different perspective or skill set. These songs are meant to be introspective, focused on hope in the midst of pain, and growth after failure.

This record is heavily influenced by production techniques used during the early to mid-eighties, predominantly records from 1982-1986. The equipment used on this record is a direct reflection of that. Including vintage analog and digital synthesizers, samplers, drum machines and digital reverbs. The album combines the darker tones of our previous releases with more melodic refrains and hooks from the new wave pop music from that era.

Returning to the Same Place releases digitally on Oct. 11. Burning Witches Records will release the vinyl version in November.

Track List for Returning to the Same Place

1. Turret

2. Living Imagination

3. Cold Trails

4. Hemlock

5. Dreamland

6. Transgression

7. Call It Safe

8. Returning To The Same Place

9. Tooms

10. Full Of Light

11. Tempus Fugit

12. Memories Breathe

For more information on Canter, check out their website. Learn more about Lakeshore Records.

(Feature Photo by Ian Vecchiotti.)

%d bloggers like this: