News Premieres

PREMIERE: Highway Superstar’s Remix of a Hot New Sally Shapiro/Ryan Paris/Johan Agebjorn Collab, “Forget About You”

Regular readers of this site will know how much I love the music of Italo legend Ryan Paris and Swedish Italo revivalists Sally Shapiro and Johan Agebjörn. So whenever they get together, it’s a celebratory affair.

We last heard the trio on “Love On Ice” from the Videoman soundtrack. On Monday, June 8, they’re returning with a maxi-single for new song “Forget About You,” their second collaboration. In advance of that, I’m premiering my friend Highway Superstar’s suavely glitzy remix of the song from the release that will also feature “Love On Ice.”

For the remix of “Forget About You,” Highway Superstar (AKA Alex Karlinsky) took a somewhat blind approach.

“I got Ryan’s and Sally’s vocal takes a while after I heard the original track, and having not remembered the original composition, I decided to submerge them in an upbeat Italo Disco vibe to go with Ryan’s baritone and Sally’s ethereal tones,” Karlinsky told Vehlinggo.

Agebjörn is pleased with the result.

Highway Superstar is a great remixer,” he said.

ryan paris sally shapiro johan agebjorn
From left: Ryan Paris, Sally Shapiro, and Johan Agebjörn.

Some Words on “Forget About You”

When Agebjörn was putting the song together, he says he thought it sounded like a duet — like the perfect medium for another blend of Shapiro and Paris, given how well it went with “Love On Ice.”

Although the Sally Shapiro project officially ended in 2016, Shapiro says she thought it was “fun to make a guest appearance in 2018 on ‘Love On Ice’ together with Ryan Paris and likewise on this new track.”

Paris himself is quite pleased with both “Love On Ice” and “Forget About You.”

“I love these songs and I love the voice of Sally,” he said.

Lately, outside of this release, Agebjörn has been working with collaborator Mikael Ögren on a new album with a more ambient/electronica style with a dash of synthwave. Agebjörn recently did a Vehlinggo Mix focusing on ’90s ambient techno.

Forget About You Maxi-Single Tracklist

1. Forget About You
2. Love On Ice
3. Forget About You (Highway Superstar Remix)
4. Forget About You (Instrumental)
5. Love On Ice (Instrumental)
6. Forget About You (Highway Superstar Instrumental)

The release is available on digital and streaming platforms on Monday, June 8.

ICYMI: Both Johan Agebjörn and Highway Superstar make appearances on the Vehlinggo Presents: 5 Years compilation.