Home News News Premieres

Vehlinggo Premiere: Johan Agebjörn and Mikael Ögren – ‘Relentless Rain Over Ladoga’

What comes to mind when I hear “Relentless Rain Over Ladoga,” a cut from the forthcoming Johan Agebjörn (Sally Shapiro) and Mikael Ögren LP, We Never Came to the White Sea?

Exquisite ambient work evoking the gorgeous and obscure landscapes of northern Europe. Ethereal and crystalline synths blending with pulsating synth bass and beats — creating an environment as beautiful and contemplative as it is likely to promote movement. (Translation: Killer music that activates something extraordinary in the listener.)

Hear the song here first before the album comes out on Friday.

The record was inspired by their trip to the Republic of Karelia, a beautiful country whose culture spans Russian and Finnish territory (and a place from where a branch of Agebjörn’s family hails).

Check out “Relentless Rain” above, and then buy the whole concept album on Friday, Feb. 10. It’s available from Spotted Peccary Music. (A review of the full LP will hit around that time, too.)

(Some trivia: The fat bass on “Rain” comes from this synth.)

We Never Came to the White Sea Tracklist

  1. As I Passed the Vyartsilya Border Crossing
  2. Motor Stop, 6km to Suoyarvi
  3. The Lights of Lakhkolampi Pass By
  4. 0:55 In Matkaselkya
  5. Relentless Rain Over Ladoga
  6. Aurora Over Odega
  7. Four Hours to Karhumaoki
  8. Sunset in Vodlozerski
  9. The Rajakarjala Forests
  10. Sleepless On The Kostomuksha-Petrozavodsk Night Train

Also: Check out the first single from the album, “As I Passed the Vyartsilya Border Crossing.”


%d bloggers like this: