News Premieres

PREMIERE: Track from ‘God’s Country’ Composer DeAndre James Allen-Toole’s Score

Julian Higgins’ neo-Western God’s Country, starring Thandiwe Newton and Jeremy Bobb, offers a compelling blend of a contemplation on grief and a robust dose of revenge-thriller, and complementing that is DeAndre James Allen-Toole’s captivating score. Today, Vehlinggo gives you a taste of the music before Lakeshore Records releases it tomorrow.

“Why Do You Care So Much” showcases Allen-Toole’s particular talent for picking apart foreboding and getting down to its core, paired with an anti-dogmatic approach to instrumentation and a keen deployment of dynamics.

“[The queue] captures a ceaseless and inescapable foreboding—a percolating and pulsating sense of uneasiness—that underscores Sandra’s escalating battle with a vague but increasingly tangible threat,” Allen-Toole said in a statement. “Rising, cyclical swells and intensifying percussion punctuate a compounding sense of urgency as myriad internal and external forces long set into motion draw her closer to the point of no return.”

You can pre-save the album now on some services in advance of its digital release tomorrow.

About God’s Country

When a college professor (Newton) in the remote mountain expanses of the American West confronts two hunters she catches trespassing on her property, she’s pulled into an escalating dispute with catastrophic consequences. This IFC Films title is based on the short story “Winter Light” by James Lee Burke.

DeAndre James Allen-Toole. Photo via White Bear PR.

God’s Country — Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Track List

01. Ab Initio
02. So It Goes
03. An Abiding Uncertainty
04. Blood in the Snow
05. Too Much
06. Unsought Consequences
07. No Harm Done
08. Why Do You Care So Much
09. Pandora’s Box
10. I Think We Did Try
11. I Am So Sorry
12. The Heart of Wrath
13. Threnody for the Hunted
14. Ad Infinitum
15. Beautiful Savior